Simple Tutorial on Charting Songs by Superfly360

A collection of helpful posts
This topic is 11 years and 10 months old. Instead of replying, please begin a new topic, or search for another related topic that may be more suitable.
A Dickie?!
superfly360

Simple Tutorial on Charting Songs by Superfly360

Postby superfly360 » Sun May 27, 2012 11:42 pm

Spoiler:Background of this guide (If you are here to learn how to chart, just skip right to the introduction. Nothing in this spoiler is relevant to charting):
I'm a sophomore in high school and attend the Commonwealth Governor's School which is a program for gifted children. It puts me in the same classroom with 30 other gifted kids for the four main academic classes (math, social studies, science, and english) for my four years of high school. One unique part of this program is the Culminating project. It's basically a year long research project that can be on pretty much any topic you want, with the teachers guiding you and making sure it is able to be researched of course. Freshman year was basically an introduction and only required research and an end-of-the-year presentation. For the remaining three years, a product of some sort must be made as well. This year I decided to do my Culminating project on charting, as it has been a fun hobby of mine for a couple years, and I felt the research could help this community. Soon after starting my research, I decided a tutorial on charting was the best option. Although the authors of other guides are superb charters, the tutorials they have written may not exactly be the best for beginners based off of one or more factors. Some are written by people who's first language isn't English so the wording is awkward at times, and most of the new people here seem to have English as their first language. Other times the guides are written in great depth and detail, which is great for an experienced charter who wants to learn more, but it's not so great for a beginner. And occasion